h1

Maya & Me & Maya

May 30, 2014
Via Sydney Clark

Via Sydney Clark

Maya & Me & Maya

Charles Blow writes in the New York Times about What Maya Angelou Meant to Me

I have a group of writers I call my literary mothers and fathers: Alice Walker and James Baldwin and Toni Morrison and Alex Haley and Gwendolyn Brooks and Langston Hughes. And yes, Maya Angelou.

This is not because I knew them, but rather because, through their words, they have nurtured me, inculcating in me a sense of myself that sustains me. They helped me to see myself and love myself when I felt least seen and least loved.

They saved me.

If you are a writer, this is really a worthwhile read. It is a worthwhile read even if you are not a writer yourself.

Leave a Reply

